





13 JULY 2016

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

THE APPOINTMENT OF DR. AMIRUDIN ABDUL WAHAB, CHIEF EXECUTIVE OFFICER OF CYBERSECURITY MALAYSIA AS A DEPUTY DIRECTORS OF THE 32 GLOBAL EXPERT COUNCIL MEMBERS OF APEC ECBA

KUALA LUMPUR, 13 JULY 2016 : Dr. Amirudin Abdul Wahab, Chief Executive Officer of CyberSecurity Malaysia has recently been appointed as one of the Deputy Directors of the 32 Global Expert Council Members of the Asia-Pacific Economic Cooperation E-Commerce Business Alliance (APEC ECBA). The Director is Ms Jana Carter, Senior Director of International Corporate Affairs from Walmart Stores Inc, USA. The appointment was made during the 6th APEC ECBA Forum which was held on June 29 to June 30 in Jinjiang, Fujian Province of China.

APEC ECBA was established during the 13th APEC Ministerial Meeting in October 2001. It aspires to expand e-commerce and associates the private and public sectors in Asia-Pacific. Thus, reinforce the economic and technical cooperation in e-commerce to narrow the gap for e-commerce application between APEC members.

APEC ECBA offers its services to entrepreneurs in Asia-Pacific. It encourages e-commerce networks, establishes enterprises cooperation among APEC members, advocates government for e-commerce development optimization and administer the overall e-commerce development process in Asia-Pacific.

APEC ECBA Secretariat is located in Beijing. It is accountable to plan and implement promotional activities for e-commerce and paperless trading among Alliance members. This is an effective platform to facilitate communication between government and business community and establish cooperation and joint progress for all enterprises.





Corporate Office: Level 5, Sapura@Mines No 7, Jalan Tasik The Mines Resort City 43300 Seri Kembangan Selangor Darul Ehsan Malaysia.

www.cybersecurity.my

As Deputy Directors, their tasks are to lead the expert councils, manage reunion meetings and determine the objectives and mechanisms to establish cross border e-commerce before submitting them to APEC Ministerial meeting.

"Personally, this is a great honour for me to be elected as one of the deputy directors in such a well reputable international cooperation. Indeed, this is a global recognition for CyberSecurity Malaysia's expertise in cyber security industry hence, upholds Malaysia's reputation in this competitive global arena."

Dr. Amirudin holds various positions at the national and international level. Currently, Dr. Amirudin is the Vice-Chair of OIC Science & Technology Committee, Board Member of Canadian-based POLCYB, Member of National e-Sovereignty Committee chaired by YAB Deputy Prime Minister of Malaysia, and a Permanent Member of the Malaysian National Standards Committee (MyNSC) among others. Formerly, he was the Chairman for World Trustmark Alliance (WTA) in 2014 - 2015 and he had received an award for the Most Outstanding ASEAN Chief Security Officer (CSO) in 2014.

 \sim End \sim

CyberSecurity Malaysia is the national specialist centre for cyber security, under the purview of the Ministry of Science, Technology and Innovation (MOSTI). For additional information, please visit our website at http://www.cybersecurity.my. For general inquiry, please email to <u>info@cybersecurity.my</u> Stay connected with us on social networks: facebook/ CyberSecurityMalaysia, twitter/cybersecuritymy, youtube/cybersecuritymy, instagram/CyberSecurity_Malaysia

For media enquiries email us at <u>media@cybersecurity.my</u> or call 603-8992 6888, Mohd Shamil Mohd Yusoff (ext: 6978) / Sandra Isnaji (ext: 6977) / Zul Akmal Abdul Manan (ext: 6945)

3