



MEDIA RELEASE

01 December 2014
FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

DR. AMIRUDIN ABDUL WAHAB, CHIEF EXECUTIVE OFFICER OF CYBERSECURITY MALAYSIA HONORED AS AN OUTSTANDING CHIEF INFORMATION/SECURITY OFFICER IN ASEAN

Five outstanding CIO/CSO from 10 ASEAN countries including Dr. Amirudin Abdul Wahab will receive the ASEAN CSO Awards in Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam on 2nd December 2014.

KUALA LUMPUR (1st **December 2014)** – CyberSecurity Malaysia, the national cyber security specialist agency under the Ministry of Science, Technology and Innovation (MOSTI) proudly announced today that its Chief Executive Officer Dr. Amirudin Abdul Wahab has been selected to receive the Outstanding Chief Information/Security Officer Award ("CSO Award"), in conjunction with the 10th ASEAN CIO | CSO Summit and Awards 2014 to be held in Ho Chi Minh City (HCMC), Vietnam on December 2, 2014.

Known as the highest recognition for a Chief Information/Security Officer in the ASEAN region, the CSO Awards are given to a select few of highly regarded individuals in the industry for their excellent contribution to ASEAN's peace and security by implementing information security management and business continuity programs in business enterprises or civic/government organisations.

Dr. Amirudin is selected for the award for his role as Chief Executive Officer of CyberSecurity Malaysia since January 2013, where he implements various initiatives to strengthen the national organization responsible for the safety and well-being of Malaysia's cyberspace.

Among the initiatives are setting up new strategic direction by establishing eight (8) National Centre of Excellence (COE), enhancing public-private partnership by introducing the Industry Collaboration Program (ICP), and intensifying regional and international collaboration through various cyber security bilateral cooperation and multilateral platforms. Alongside the CoE initiative, which he established in 2014; Dr. Amirudin plans to kick-start CyberSecurity Malaysia's Business Transformation Program (BTP) in 2015.







503 8992 6841 1 300 88 2999



According to Dr. Amirudin, the combination of CoE and the BTP are the master plan that CyberSecurity Malaysia needed to chart its strategic positioning and future direction to ensure that CyberSecurity Malaysia is well positioned to play its part in supporting the national agenda as well as meeting the challenges of tomorrow, sustaining its operation in the long run and the greater needs of the business and corporate community at-large.

"I am very fortunate to have the support and commitment from CyberSecurity Malaysia's Board, Management and Staff; without which, it would have been impossible to implement any program or initiative. Therefore, I dedicate this ASEAN CSO Award to everyone in CyberSecurity Malaysia for the excellent teamwork, which is the key ingredient of CyberSecurity Malaysia's success. With continuous teamwork, I am confident that CyberSecurity Malaysia will not only remain relevant, but will also continue to lead in the Malaysian cyber security industry, as well globally." said Dr. Amirudin.

"Being honored with the ASEAN CSO Award shows that CyberSecurity Malaysia is recognized within ASEAN. Being appointed as the permanent secretariat for the OIC-CERT (www.oic-cert.net) means that the OIC member countries from all over the world recognize CyberSecurity Malaysia. Being appointed as the World Trustmark Alliance (WTA) Chairman for two terms (2014 and 2015) proves that WTA members globally (from 30 countries) recognize CyberSecurity Malaysia. All these bring CyberSecurity Malaysia closer to achieving the vision to be a globally recognized, national cyber security reference and specialist centre by 2020." Dr. Amirudin added.

More About Dr. Amirudin Abdul Wahab

In addition to his position as Chief Executive Officer of CyberSecurity Malaysia, Dr. Amirudin is also the Chairman of World Trustmark Alliance (WTA) for 2014 and 2015, the National Chairman of the Industry Standards Committee on Information Technology, Communications and Multimedia (ISC G), Chairman of Impartial Committee for Malaysian Software Testing Board (MTSB), Board member of the National ICT Association of Malaysia (PIKOM) for 2013-2014, Chairman of PIKOM Information Security Committee and also a Board member of Cloud Security Alliance, Malaysia Chapter.

Dr. Amirudin was recently appointed by the Honourable Deputy Prime Minister of Malaysia as one of the high-profile 11-member Independent Panel Committee of the Ministry of Education chaired by Tun Zaki Hamid, the former Chief Justice to study the National Examination Board examination system.

He is also a National Committee Member of e-Sovereignty Committee chaired by Honourable Deputy Prime Minister of Malaysia, and a member of the OIC Task Force on ICT and Cyber Security.

Among his personal contributions to the Malaysian society include a role as Adjunct Professor at the International Islamic University of Malaysia (IIUM), which led to a successful set up of the joint CSM-IIUM Cybersecurity CoE for Organization of Islamic Cooperation (OIC) and the launched of the first joint CSM-UKM Master in Cybersecurity Program in the country.

About the ASEAN CIO I CSO Summit and Awards

The ASEAN CIO | CSO Summit and Awards is an annual event. This year, a distinguished Board of Judges selected five Chief Information/Security Officers who stood out among their counterparts within the 10 ASEAN countries.

The CSO Awards is organised by International Data Group (IDG). It is collaborated and endorsed by Vietnam Government Information Security Committee, Ministry of National Defense, Ministry of Information and Communications (MIC), Ministry of Public Security, Ministry of Science and Technology, and the People's Committee of Ho Chi Minh City.

The event is supported by Vietnam Computer Emergency Response Team (VNCERT), (ISC)2 (International Information Systems Security Certification Consortium), ISPA.my (Information Security Professional Association of Malaysia), Hack in the Box (HITB) Malaysia.

About ASEAN

The Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN) is a political and economic organisation of ten countries located in Southeast Asia, which was formed on 8 August 1967 by Indonesia, Malaysia, the Philippines, Singapore and Thailand. Since then, membership has expanded to include Brunei, Cambodia, Laos, Myanmar (Burma) and Vietnam. Its aims include accelerating economic growth, social progress, socio-cultural evolution among its members, protection of regional peace and stability, and opportunities for member countries to discuss differences peacefully.

-----END-----

CyberSecurity Malaysia is the national specialist centre for cyber security, under the purview of the Ministry of Science, Technology and Innovation (MOSTI). For more information, go to http://www.cybersecurity.mv.

Issued by the Outreach & Corporate Communications Department of CyberSecurity Malaysia.

For enquiry, email <u>media@cybersecurity.my</u> or call +603 8992 6888 ext. 6978 for Mr. Mohd Shamil Mohd Yusoff or ext. 6977 for Ms. Sandra Isnaji.